ScoreHero
Home | Forum | Wiki
Inbox [ Login ]Inbox [ Login ]
SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist
ProfileProfile Log inLog in
The Programming Thread / Project Euler Thread
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 28, 29, 30  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ScoreHero Forum Index -> General Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
CloudFuel  





Joined: 06 Dec 2006
Posts: 1030
Location: Houston, TX

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2012 8:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just started checking out this thread for the first time today and I'm impressed with how much some of you have learned in the 'short' time this has been around... very cool!

Anyways, the reason I came here today is to see if any of you might have some advice you'd be willing to share.

My company (a small/medium sized logistics software provider) has decided that they would like to start a testing/quality assurance department and want me to be the first candidate. They chose me because of my persistent interest in various IT fields, above-average IT knowledge, & my customer service/logistics background.

That wasn't meant to sound pompous, but to just let you know that I have some qualifications (not completely fresh). On the other hand, though, I really have no clue/experience with manual testing or automation. I am trying to do as much research and learning as possible before I start transitioning just so I am ahead of the curve and can hopefully catch on faster, but I wasn't sure if maybe some of you had some insight, links, or books you'd recommend?

With some basic preliminary Google research, so far, I've come across, these:

* www.guru99.com
* www.qatutor.com/
* www.successful-quality-assurance.com/
* www.sqaforums.com/
* www.qaforums.com/
* Also learning about Selenium (web automation tool)

Anything would be GREATLY appreciated!
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail XBL Gamertag: CloudFuel PSN Name: Cloud_Fuel Wii Friend Code: 4265622918614549
blingdomepiece  





Joined: 03 Aug 2007
Posts: 4358
Location: Ottawa ON Canada

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2012 11:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

CloudFuel wrote:
That wasn't meant to sound pompous, but to just let you know that I have some qualifications (not completely fresh). On the other hand, though, I really have no clue/experience with manual testing or automation. I am trying to do as much research and learning as possible before I start transitioning just so I am ahead of the curve and can hopefully catch on faster, but I wasn't sure if maybe some of you had some insight, links, or books you'd recommend?


I ran QA at my startup for 18 months. This book was good:

http://www.amazon.com/Lessons-Learned-Software-Testing-Kaner/dp/0471081124

Some things to consider:

* Does your software have formal requirements? If so your job is to make sure these are satisfied. If not, do you have the ability to influence the process to be more requirements-based?
* QA is not about making the product high-quality; that's someone else's job. QA is about having as accurate as possible a measurement of quality as possible at all times. This is why requirements are important. You should be all about providing information, particularly quantifiable information.
* QA is often about process improvement and automation. Whether you can automate and what kind of things you can automate depend on the technologies you use (which you don't mention here). Automation has its own trade-offs which are important to consider; namely, the cost of implementing automation, and of keeping an automated system up to date, OFTEN outweigh the value it provides. Deciding whether and what to automate is a QA process design decision as important to get right (and sometimes difficult) as anything you'd do in development.

Stepping back there are two sets of skills you need. One is good quality assurance chops; understanding what you are there to do, that would apply irrespective of technology (and even outside of computers altogether if you think of quality assurance at a factory making widgets etc.). The second is the specific technical skills you will need to understand what you are testing, how to automate things, etc.

I could probably come up with more given time. It's an interesting subject. From a career perspective be careful to manage your role and how it is perceived. At some places testers are unjustly seen as less important than developers. In reality good QA people are vital and hard to find.
_________________
Expert Pro Keys: 50/63 GS, most recent The Killing Moon
Expert Pro Drums: 53/83 GS, most recent Free Bird / Oh My God / Oye Mi Amor
Expert Pro Bass: 6/83 GS, most recent Everybody Wants to Rule the World
Back to top
View user's profile Wiki User Page Send private message
Sarg338  





Joined: 07 Feb 2008
Posts: 5143

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 5:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not sure if I mentioned this earlier in this thread, but i'm taking Parallel Programming this semester. We'll be using 2 different... APIs I think they are? MPI and OpenMP. Anyone have any experience with them?
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message XBL Gamertag: PRS Sarg
blingdomepiece  





Joined: 03 Aug 2007
Posts: 4358
Location: Ottawa ON Canada

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 11:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sarg338 wrote:
Not sure if I mentioned this earlier in this thread, but i'm taking Parallel Programming this semester. We'll be using 2 different... APIs I think they are? MPI and OpenMP. Anyone have any experience with them?


I wrote some stuff with MPI about 12 years ago but I don't remember anything about it .
_________________
Expert Pro Keys: 50/63 GS, most recent The Killing Moon
Expert Pro Drums: 53/83 GS, most recent Free Bird / Oh My God / Oye Mi Amor
Expert Pro Bass: 6/83 GS, most recent Everybody Wants to Rule the World
Back to top
View user's profile Wiki User Page Send private message
Sarg338  





Joined: 07 Feb 2008
Posts: 5143

PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2012 1:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

blingdomepiece wrote:
Sarg338 wrote:
Not sure if I mentioned this earlier in this thread, but i'm taking Parallel Programming this semester. We'll be using 2 different... APIs I think they are? MPI and OpenMP. Anyone have any experience with them?


I wrote some stuff with MPI about 12 years ago but I don't remember anything about it .


TOTALLY missed this post.

So far it's not bad. Seems to be just including the MPI header file, a few lines of code to set stuff up, and then just regular C++, along with some Command Line stuff when I run it on our local cluster.

EDIT: I do have a question for those who still read it. I'm writing a program using MPI to find Semiperfect numbers from x to y. When each process finds one, it's suppose to store it in a process-specific array, that's "Suppose to be dynamic in nature".

Now, this is embarrassing since I would think I would know how to do Dynamic Arrays by now... but I don't. I know for a regular, static array I would just do int array[10].

How would I create a dynamic one? I saw a post online saying that it would just be: int* array = new int[10], with an appropriate delete statement when I'm done.

How is that second one different from the first one? Again, I feel stupid for asking this since I'd think I should know that already haha. If you go over the allotted size in the second example, does it just tack on one extra (Or however you need) automatically instead of going out of bound? How does that make it dynamic?
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message XBL Gamertag: PRS Sarg
Leprosy916  





Joined: 02 Jun 2007
Posts: 765
Location: Sacramento, CA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2012 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you not able to use vectors?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website XBL Gamertag: Leprosy916 PSN Name: Leprosy916
Sarg338  





Joined: 07 Feb 2008
Posts: 5143

PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2012 10:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Leprosy916 wrote:
Are you not able to use vectors?


Nope! The assignment specifically said dynamic arrays. Because at the end, we are suppose to have all of the difference processes send their specific array to the ROOT process and have it bring it all together into 1 big array.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message XBL Gamertag: PRS Sarg
PiemanLK  





Joined: 03 Dec 2007
Posts: 4710
Location: /export/home

PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2012 11:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



My CIS101..
_________________
[quote=''Otend'']Id come up with a long post, but Pieman said what we are all thinking, as usual[/quote]
[quote=''youhas'']EDIT TO ADD: Hey, post #3000! Neat! I will eagerly anticipate my set of ScoreHero-branded steak knives within six to eight weeks.[/quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Wiki User Page Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger XBL Gamertag: PiemanXC
Leprosy916  





Joined: 02 Jun 2007
Posts: 765
Location: Sacramento, CA

PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 1:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.fredosaurus.com/notes-cpp/newdelete/50dynamalloc.html
http://www.fredosaurus.com/notes-cpp/newdelete/55dynexample.html

Dynamically allocating the array with new is the only other way I know of. As far as I'm aware, it's pretty much the manual way of doing what a vector does automatically. And if you could use linux, you could just declare the array with a variable size like int array[i] and it will compile. So if you have to have it only run in linux, that's pretty easy. Haha
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website XBL Gamertag: Leprosy916 PSN Name: Leprosy916
Sarg338  





Joined: 07 Feb 2008
Posts: 5143

PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 1:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Leprosy916 wrote:
http://www.fredosaurus.com/notes-cpp/newdelete/50dynamalloc.html
http://www.fredosaurus.com/notes-cpp/newdelete/55dynexample.html

Dynamically allocating the array with new is the only other way I know of. As far as I'm aware, it's pretty much the manual way of doing what a vector does automatically. And if you could use linux, you could just declare the array with a variable size like int array[i] and it will compile. So if you have to have it only run in linux, that's pretty easy. Haha


Well, our computer cluster does run on Unix I believe he said, so it should work on that, correct?

Anyways, I always thought you would use a dynamic array when you DIDN'T know how large it would have to be. So the confusing part to me is that you still have to declare how big it has to be?
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message XBL Gamertag: PRS Sarg
Leprosy916  





Joined: 02 Jun 2007
Posts: 765
Location: Sacramento, CA

PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 3:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sarg338 wrote:
Leprosy916 wrote:
http://www.fredosaurus.com/notes-cpp/newdelete/50dynamalloc.html
http://www.fredosaurus.com/notes-cpp/newdelete/55dynexample.html

Dynamically allocating the array with new is the only other way I know of. As far as I'm aware, it's pretty much the manual way of doing what a vector does automatically. And if you could use linux, you could just declare the array with a variable size like int array[i] and it will compile. So if you have to have it only run in linux, that's pretty easy. Haha


Well, our computer cluster does run on Unix I believe he said, so it should work on that, correct?

Anyways, I always thought you would use a dynamic array when you DIDN'T know how large it would have to be. So the confusing part to me is that you still have to declare how big it has to be?


All you are really doing with new is using a counter to check if the array is the maximum size that you originally allowed. Then that if statement will lead to a function that creates a new array of a larger size,copies the values from the old array top the new one, then deletes the old array. So you don't have to know how big it will be. You set it to an initial size and then allow it to grow from there if it needs to. You could even just make the new array increment by only one if you want to be as efficient with memory and inefficient with processing power as possible.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website XBL Gamertag: Leprosy916 PSN Name: Leprosy916
Sarg338  





Joined: 07 Feb 2008
Posts: 5143

PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 11:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Programming Team tryouts for my college is coming up in 2 weeks, and since it's my senior year, might as well try out! The teacher in charge of this emailed everyone in the CS department sample questions and questions used in previous years. I'll had to brush up on my data structure knowledge (Mainly Stacks it looks like. One of the past problems was figuring out if something was a palindrome, which is easily done with Stacks if I remember correctly), but does anyone here have any advice on good-to-know, built-in libraries (I know Math.h and Vector are the main 2 I've used besides the usual ones) that would help?
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message XBL Gamertag: PRS Sarg
RustyWaffle  





Joined: 15 Apr 2007
Posts: 796

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2012 8:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can anybody here help me in Two's Compliment Arithmetic? I'm taking a course and I am absolutely dumbfounded by this having little programming background. My first two problems are subtraction in base 10 & base 2.
_________________

My Drum Covers (Most recent: Muse - Stockholm Syndrome)
ShadoWolf wrote:
HellAshes wrote:
Everyone hates Nihilanth. I enjoyed making that guitar chart. D:
Fuck you HellAsses you fucking fucker
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blingdomepiece  





Joined: 03 Aug 2007
Posts: 4358
Location: Ottawa ON Canada

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2012 10:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sarg338 wrote:
EDIT: I do have a question for those who still read it. I'm writing a program using MPI to find Semiperfect numbers from x to y. When each process finds one, it's suppose to store it in a process-specific array, that's "Suppose to be dynamic in nature".


If your array has to be able to grow and shrink at run-time, you will need some kind of data structure. This makes it a mystery as to why you would not be allowed to use STL data structures. If they really want you to roll your own, it shouldn't be too tough to wrap an array in a class and then overload the [] operator, and add code to dynamically resize it when someone tries to add the n+1st element. Note that if you are being prohibited from using the std:: namespace you may find it easier to use C memory management calls like malloc, realloc, memset, and memcpy (you should never mix C and C++ memory management functions).

I haven't done a lot of C++ in recent years but my impression is that if you new an array of size X and then insert at position [x] you are out of bounds the same way you'd be in C.
_________________
Expert Pro Keys: 50/63 GS, most recent The Killing Moon
Expert Pro Drums: 53/83 GS, most recent Free Bird / Oh My God / Oye Mi Amor
Expert Pro Bass: 6/83 GS, most recent Everybody Wants to Rule the World
Back to top
View user's profile Wiki User Page Send private message
Sarg338  





Joined: 07 Feb 2008
Posts: 5143

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2012 10:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RustyWaffle wrote:
Can anybody here help me in Two's Compliment Arithmetic? I'm taking a course and I am absolutely dumbfounded by this having little programming background. My first two problems are subtraction in base 10 & base 2.


Had to do this in networking, and once you understand it, it's not that hard.

From Here:

Quote:
To calculate the 2's complement of an integer, invert the binary equivalent of the number by changing all of the ones to zeroes and all of the zeroes to ones (also called 1's complement), and then add one.

For example,

0001 0001(binary 17) 1110 1111(two's complement -17)

NOT(0001 0001) = 1110 1110 (Invert bits)
1110 1110 + 0000 0001 = 1110 1111 (Add 1)


When working with a Signed integer, the leftmost bit tells you whether it's positive or negative. If it's 0, then it's equal to or greater than 0. If it's 1, then it's a negative number.

2's complement is just used to flip a positive number to it's negative binary counterpart (and vice versa).
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message XBL Gamertag: PRS Sarg
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ScoreHero Forum Index -> General Chat All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 28, 29, 30  Next
Page 29 of 30

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum




Copyright © 2006-2024 ScoreHero, LLC
Terms of Use | Privacy Policy


Powered by phpBB